The RNA Society/Scaringe Young Scientist Award

The RNA Society/Scaringe Young Scientist Award was established to recognize the achievement of young scientists engaged in RNA research and to encourage them to pursue a career in the field of RNA. The award is open to all junior scientists (graduate students or postdoctoral fellows) from all regions of the world who have made a significant contribution to the broad area of RNA. The award is not restricted to authors who have published in the RNA Journal, although it is restricted to active RNA Society members.  The prize will recognize one outstanding graduate student and one postdoctoral fellow based on their research accomplishments to date, a 7000-character (~1500 word) essay describing their scientific contributions to RNA research, and a 2500-character (~500-word) abstract for a review in their field of RNA research.


Travel Fellowships

The RNA Society provides travel fellowships in support of researchers who are constrained financially from attending our conference. These fellowships are often used to offset the cost of registration, and in some cases, may also cover travel costs. Fellowship funds will come from the RNA Society shortly after the close of the conference.


The Elisa Izaurralde Award for Innovation in Research, Teaching and Service

The Elisa Izaurralde Award will sustain the Society’s mission to foster research and education in the field of RNA science by providing a prestigious prize to early career researchers pursuing or using innovative approaches in research, teaching or service. The award is open to all researchers. Applicants who come from non-traditional educational backgrounds from under-represented groups in the society, or from areas outside of the traditional scientific concentrations in the RNA research community are particularly encouraged to apply.