23rd Penn State Plant Biology Symposium - RNA Biology

RNA research is currently receiving world-wide recognition with recent breakthroughs in RNAi and CRISPR, not to mention the first mRNA-based vaccines. Plant biologists have historically organized a series of stimulating international conferences on post-transcriptional gene regulation, and this will be the next conference in the series. Topics that will be covered include small RNAs, RNA structure, RNA processing, localization, translation, and epigenetics, and interconnections to the roles that RNA plays in plant growth, development, physiology, defense, and abiotic stress response. The focused nature and small size of this meeting (~200 participants) will encourage communication and discussion.

Plenary speakers include:

Sally Assmann Bruno Guillotin Yiping Qi
Mike Axtell Chuan He Misato Ohtani
Jeremie Bazin Polly Hsu Anireddy Reddy
Phil Bevilacqua Hailing Jin Jared Schrader
Xuemei Chen Julie Law Motoaki Seki
Mary Gehring Gustavo MacIntosh Leslie Sieburth
Pam Green Blake Meyers Dorothee Staiger
 Brian Gregory Rebecca Mosher  Zofia Szweykowska-Kulinska

This symposium, the 23rd in a series at Penn State, is organized by the Plant Biology graduate program of the Penn State Huck Institutes of the Life Sciences. The symposium will serve as a platform to catalyze new interactions and exchange ideas in the diverse fields of RNA biology and post-transcriptional gene regulation. In addition to the plenary lectures from worldwide leaders, short talks will also be chosen from submitted abstracts. There will be ample time for informal discussions and poster presentations. Postdoctoral researchers and students are particularly encouraged to attend. The symposium will be a traditional “in-person” meeting.

On-site check in will commence at 4:00 pm on May 17th and the symposium will end with a reception from 6:00-8:30 pm the evening of May 20th. We hope that you will join us!

Symposium website: https://web.cvent.com/event/548e7d9e-a1b8-44a9-93eb-4cb8ab96040b/summary

April 1 - Abstract submission for travel award consideration
April 15 - Abstract submission
May 6 - Registration deadline