2022 RNA Society/Scaringe Young Scientist Award Winners
Posted on 

Graduate Student winner: Sanne Klompe

Ms. Sanne Klompe, currently a graduate student in the laboratory of Professor Samuel Sternberg at Columbia University, studies the mechanisms of CRISPR-Cas systems with mobile genetic elements. Sanne work has gained insight into these systems in which nuclease-deficient Type I-F CRISPR-Cas systems serve as RNA-guided targeting modules for transposable elements. Additionally, during her studies, Sanne has contributed to structural analyses of a novel co-complex between transposition protein TniQ and the RNA-guided targeting module Cascade and helped drive new genome engineering technologies. Sanne first joined the RNA Society as a member in 2021.

Postdoctoral Fellow winner: Margaret Rodgers

After training with Professors Nils Walter at the University of Michigan and Aaron Hoskins at University of Wisconsin - Madison, Dr. Margaret Rodgers currently holds the position of postdoctoral researcher in the laboratory of Sarah Woodson at Johns Hopkins University. Using techniques she developed, Margaret has made important advances in our understanding of the co-transcriptional assembly of protein-RNA complexes in cells. Margaret is a longstanding member of the RNA Society, having first joined as a member in 2012.