EVOLUTION – Genetic Novelty/Genomic Variations by RNA-Networks and Viruses

Guenther Witzany (Telos-Philosophische Praxis)
In cooperation with
Corrado Spadafora, CNR National Research Council of Italy, Rome, Italy and Luis Villarreal, University of California, Irvine, USA

For more than half a century it has been accepted that new genetic information is mostly derived from random‚ error-based’ events. Now it is recognized that errors cannot explain genetic novelty and complexity.

Empirical evidence establishes the crucial role of non-random genetic content editors such as viruses and RNA-networks to create genetic novelty, complex regulatory control, inheritance vectors, genetic identity, immunity, new sequence space, evolution of complex organisms and evolutionary transitions.

This new empirically based perspective on the evolution of genetic novelty will have more explanatory power in the future than the „error-replication“ narrative of the last century.

This symposium assembles approximately 60 experts from different fields to discuss a new paradigmatic understanding of genetic novelty, code-generating, genome-formatting factors and the current knowledge of regulatory control in all steps und sub-steps of transcription, translation, repair, immunity, epigenetic marking and heredity.


List of Confirmed Speakers

Frantisek Baluska (Institute of Cellular and Molecular Botany, University of Bonn, Germany)
Gustavo Caetano Anolles (Department of Crop Sciences, Evolutionary Bioinformatics Laboratory, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Urbana, USA)
Julian Chen (Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Arizona State University, Tempe, USA)
Jordi Gomez (Instituto de Parasitología y Biomedicina ‘López-Neyra’ (CSIC), Granada, Spain)
Matti Jalasvuori (Centre of Excellence in Biological Interactions, Department of Biological and Environmental Science, University of Jyväskylä, Finland)
Eugene Koonin (National Center for Biotechnology Information, National Library of Medicine, Bethesda, USA)
Mart Krupovic (Unit BMGE, Department of Microbiology, Institut Pasteur, Paris, France)
Erez Levanon (Mina and Everard Goodman Faculty of Life Sciences, Bar-Ilan University, Ramat Gan, Israel)
Karin Moelling (Max Planck Institute for molecular Genetics, Berlin, Germany)
Sabine Müller (Universität Greifswald, Institut für Biochemie , Greifswald , Germany)
Mariusz Nowacki (Institute of Cell Biology, University of Bern, Baltzerstrasse 4, 3012 Bern, Switzerland)
David Prangishvili (Department of Microbiology, BMGE, Institut Pasteur, Paris, France)
Forest Rohwer (Department of Biology, San Diego State University, San Diego, CA, USA)
Corrado Spadafora (Institute of Translational Pharmacology, CNR, Rome, Italy)
James Shapiro (Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology , University of Chicago , IL , USA)
Ravindra Singh (Department of Biomedical Sciences, Iowa State University, Ames, USA)
Peter Unrau (Department of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, Canada)
Luis P. Villarreal (Center for Virus Research, University of California, Irvine, Irvine, CA, USA)
Eric Westhof (Architecture and Reactivity of RNA, Institute of Molecular and Cellular Biology of the CNRS, University of Strasbourg, France)

Additional POSTER Presentations are highly welcome

For more information and to register, please visit: