EMBO Conference: RNA localisation and local translation


Registration deadline: 31 March 2017
Abstract submission deadline: 23 March 2017 Chosen participants will be notified by 27 March 2017 Payment deadline: 15 April 2017

About the Conference
RNA localization and local translation are essential for the functional polarization of cells, impacting on numerous physiological processes. They lie at the heart of cellular, developmental and neurobiology and are of principal importance in the execution of polarised cell functions, in health and disease.
This third EMBO Conference will be the latest in a series that has taken place biennially for over twenty years, initially in the US and, thanks to EMBO, in recent years alternating between the US and Europe. The meeting brings together leading scientists studying RNA transport, translation, stability and decay, and how cells harness RNA regulation to achieve tight spatial and temporal control of protein expression. The participants will include established investigators, junior faculty, postdocs and students employing diverse model systems and the entire range of modern biological approaches, including genetics, in vivo imaging, high throughput transcriptomics and proteomics, biochemistry and structural biology. This EMBO Conference is a forum where the latest technologies in RNA and protein detection and imaging, quantification, structure mapping, and computational modelling are presented and discussed. The stimulating mix of investigators has inspired novel approaches and collaborative studies leading to significant discoveries and establishing this as the leading conference in the field.

Session Topics:
• RNA processing and RNP dynamics
• RNA transport mechanisms
• Translational control mechanisms
• non-coding RNAs and RNA scaffolds
• Local translation and synaptic plasticity
• New technological frontiers in RNA biology
• RNA localization and developmental decisions

Susan Ackerman, UC San Diego Medical School Claudia Bagni, University of Lausanne Steven Block, Stanford University Fulvia Bono, Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology Simon Bullock, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology Ilan Davis, University of Oxford Elizabeth Gavis, Princeton University Christine Holt, University of Cambridge V. Narry Kim, Seoul National University Ruth Lehmann, Skirball Institute of Biomolecular Medicine Howard Lipshitz, University of Toronto Paul Macdonald, The University of Texas at Austin Ian MacRae, Scripps, La Jolla, CA Kelsey Martin, UCLA Christine Mayr, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Steven McKnight, UT Southwestern Medical Center Melissa Moore, Moderna Therapeutics Kimberly Mowry, Brown University Dierk Niessing, LMU Roy Parker, University of Colorado Boulder Lori Passmore, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology Laura Ranum, University of Florida Joel Richter, University of Massachusetts Medical School Erin Schuman, Max Planck Institute for Brain Research Geraldine Seydoux, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine Robert H. Singer, Albert Einstein College of Medicine Nahum Sonnenberg, McGill University Daniel St Johnston, The Gurdon Institute William Theurkauf, University of Massachusetts Medical School Jernej Ule, The Francis Crick Institute

Scientific Organizers:
Elena Conti, Max-Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany Anne Ephrussi, EMBL Heidelberg, Germany William Theurkauf, University of Massachusetts Medical School, USA